Successful first episode of Agrarian Conversations webinar

Boy Dominguez
Boy Dominguez

Successful first webinar in a series on critical agrarian studies & scholar-activism: What can we learn from the world of pastoralism for wider agrarian struggles? 

On 27 January 2021, the  Commodity and land rushes regimes (RRUSHES-5) research project held the first of a series of webinars looking at What can we learn from the world of pastoralism for wider agrarian struggles?

The webinar, featuring Ian Scoones, Mayam Rahmanian and Rahma Hassan was a great success, with participants, both academic researchers and civil society activists, from around the world. The conversation was engaging and vibrant with brief introductions followed by an open plenary discussion.

Recordings of the webinar

If you missed the first webinar, or would like to watch it again, click on one of the videos below. The recording is available in English and Arabic.

What can we learn from the world of pastoralism for wider agrarian struggles? (English)

What can we learn from the world of pastoralism for wider agrarian struggles? (Arabic)

About the webinar series

The Agrarian Conversations webinar series is a collective initiative of CASAS, TNI, PLAAS, ICAS, YARA, ERPI, PASTRES, RRUSHES-5 and Journal of Peasant Studies. It aims to address strategic and urgent issues in and in relation to the rural world today.

It is located in the interdisciplinary field of critical agrarian studies, pursues a progressive pluralist tradition in scholar-activism, and committed to diversity. It is internationalist in orientation, with a significant perspective and representation from the Global South.

Despite logistical challenges, the organizers will aspire to run each each episode in multiple languages, and the combination of language will vary depending on the theme. The format is conversational: a brief input from the main speaker, brief intervention from a panel of discussants, and the rest of the time is open plenary (Q&A) discussion. A background paper will be provided in advance to help facilitate a conversational format. All episodes will be recorded and will be uploaded on YouTube

Background papers

More information

If you have queries, please feel free to contact any of co-organizers:

TNI - Katie Sandwell (c.sandwell@tni.org) or Jenny Franco (jennycfranco@tni.org)
CASAS - Tania Martinez (tania.e.martinez.cruz@gmail.com)
PLAAS - Ruth Hall (rhall@uwc.ac.za)
YARA - Cyriaque Hakizimana (chakizimana@plaas.org.za)
ICAS - Sergio Coronado (sergioandrescoronado@gmail.com)
ERPI -Natacha Bruna (natachabruna89@gmail.com)
PASTRES - Ian Scoones (I.Scoones@ids.ac.uk

RRUSHES-5 - Tsegaye Moreda (tsegayemoreda@yahoo.com)
Journal of Peasant Studies - Annie Shattuck (annieshattuck@gmail.com) or Jun Borras (junborras5@gmail.com)